Nikon 70-210mm f4 Lens

Nikon 70-210mm f4

I bought this lens on the recommendation of the guys Mike & Andy over at lightenupandshoot.com  I have been following them for a while and they seem to know what they are on about.  I bought the lens because the f/4 through the entire focal length grabbed my attention, this is something that is only normally available is more expensive lenses.  Having a f4 stop at 210mm allows the depth of field to be reduced and the background to be blown our and blurry.  Search my blog for 70-210mm and see that I use this lens quite a bit, it gives great results and is very sharp on my D700.

A few facts about this lens.  It was only made for 18 months way back in 1986; its uses the same ED glass as the previous 70-210mm f4 E series model.  The lens is good at f4, I wouldn’t say its super sharp but it’s good.  It does sharpen up by f5.6 but you have lost a stop of light and some depth of field.  Another great thing about this lens is the fact the minimum focus distance is just over 1 Metre throughout the focal range.

Here are a few photos of the lens

Here are a few photos taken with the lens at f4

Leave a Reply

