Christmas Bokeh..

What is more Christmassy than a photo of a christmas tree with christmas tree bokeh? Nothing..

I had a quick look on the net and found out some useful info.  When creating a shape to make a custom bokeh, the size of the shape is determined by the focal length and aperture of the lens.  I was using my Nikon 50mm f1.4.  so the maximum size of the shape is 50 -:- 1.4 = 35mm.  So I drew a circle the size of my lens (approx 75mm) and then drew a christmas tree shape inside it no bigger than 35mm.

A print out of my tree shape.  If you want a copy of this I can upload a PDF..

I traced this onto black card, cut the shape out and stuck it onto a black 1cm strip to form an edge.

A shot of the christmas tree with no bokeh filter.

Same shot with the bokeh filter added..

A closer view..

Enjoy..

3 thoughts on “Christmas Bokeh..

Leave a Reply

